Below is a map of the UB jurisdictions. These UBE jurisdictions do not test state law.

South Carolina and Rhode Island will admit novice lawyers from 38 states who passed the UBE but they will not provide reciprocal admission on motion for experienced lawyers from 49 state. This means that novice lawyers from 38 states have a constitutional right to travel and practice their profession and to petition the government on behalf of themselves and their clients as a member of the bar, but experienced lawyers from 49 states are deprived of these civil rights. What is governmental interest served by this discrimination?

If the legitimate justification of for bar exam is to determine “Competence” and “Public protection, how can either of these goals be advanced by favoring brand-new lawyers from 38 states over all experienced lawyers from 49 states. It is self-evident neither “Competence” or “Public Protection” are advanced by this bias and discrimination when state law is not even tested on a bar exam.

Lawyers United Inc. believes that inexperienced attorneys should not have more constitutional or civil rights than experienced attorneys.  If all men and women are created equal it follows that all lawyers are created equal. There is thus no reason for a state to deny reciprocal general admission privileges to all lawyers other than economic protection for local lawyers. Economic protection is not a legitimate state interest.

Please join us and help us enforce your civil rights,  your client’s civil rights, and We The People’s civil rights.

Map of UBE jurisdictions in the US

green and red colored map


States part of the Uniform Bar Examination (UBE) for state bar examination


Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania*, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.


States not part of the UBE for state bar examination (own bar exam) California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Nevada, South Dakota, Virginia, Wisconsin.




*By July 2022.

Sources: National Conference of Bar Examiners Comprehensive Guide to Bar Admission Requirements 2021 (NCBE 2021), Chart 5,;, Uniform Bar Examination,